SXSW 2022

Our friends at SXSW invited us to create the opening title sequence for the 2022 Film Festival. It’s our fourth year collaborating together. This time we wanted to build an anthology of different visual styles to speak to the diversity of genre and film that play at the festival. There are 14 easter eggs hidden throughout the titles. Can you spot them all?

SXSW VP, Director of Film:
Janet Pierson

SXSW Project Lead:
Gabe Van Amburgh

Creative Direction:
Clara Lehmann & Jonathan Lacocque

Design Direction:
Ryan Butterworth

Jonathan Lacocque

Design & Animation by Section:

1. Opening
Design: Nuria Boj
Animation: Mantas Gr

2. Tunnel
Nidia Dias

3. Scissor Carnival
Robert Kaniszewski


4. Spaceship
Design & Animation: Florian DKS 
Additional Design & Animation: Anthony Palermo

5. Space:
Ricardo Nilsson

6. Shhhh
Terence Ginja-Martinho

7. The Rubble
Ryan Butterworth

8. Horse Head
Ryan Butterworth

9. Dance Party
Klimpa // Max Moertl & Robert Loebel

Original Music:
Matt Stanfield

Sound Design & Mix
Jenna Coyle